A Casual Observation Somewhere (Part Two- Screenplay Style)

puppy stare1THE DOG shrugs against the doorway, unimpressed at the unsightly human staring up at him. ME, of course. Frozen in place with wide, horror-struck eyes.

ME (V.O.)

Oh good. He looks hopelessly bored. I probably don’t look as crazy as I feel then. Holding my breath seems to be working. I’ll keep doing that.

DOG (V.O.)
Forever and ever.

ME (V.O.)
Okay, so there’s a telepathic dog sarcastically warning me about what seems like a very tall threat. Behind me. Good. So, I Just won’t turn around then. There was nothing really good back there anyway. Texas. A couple of aunts…

DOG (V.O.)
Things in the Southern Hemisphere…

ME (V.O.)
Yep, his mouth didn’t move just then. Okay, that could either mean dogs communicate with something other than their mouths and I just can’t see it or….

DOG ( V.O.)
Or, seeing as your lips are also not moving…I’m able to read your mind and speak to you telepathically.

ME (V.O.)
Hmm, he does make a good point.

DOG (V.O.)
Um hello, can you please stop talking about me like I’m not here. I can hear you.

ME (V.O.)
Sorry, I’m trying to adjust. It’s usually only me in here, so give me a second!

DOG (V.O.)
I think you’re just agitated because you haven’t breathed in over 2 minutes.

WHOOSH. A giant breath of air explodes out of Me. Dog’s eyes flicker up at that mystery object behind Me.

ME (V.O.)
What was that?

DOG (V.O.)
What was what?

ME (V.O.)
The look you gave my mystery threat.

DOG (V.O.)
Just checking.

ME (V.O.)
And?

DOG (V.O.)
We have more time.

ME (V.O.)
Great. I have a theory. Want to hear it?

DOG (V.O.)
So badly.

ME (V.O.)
If anything moves or changes, the thing behind me is more likely to move as well, yes?

DOG (V.O.)
Yes.

ME (V.O.)
And is it bigger than a bread box?

DOG (V.O.)
Much.

ME (V.O.)
Well then, it’s settled. I’m going to live here now. In this one spot. I’ll need regular feedings and an invisible wall to lean on for sleep. Can you manage that?

DOG (V.O.)
No. But only because I have a life and I just don’t want to.

ME (V.O.)
(offended)
I’m thinking of a finger I’m going to show you once it’s safe to use my motor skills.

DOG (V.O.)
Oh! Is it a thumb? Is it up?

TO BE CONTINUED

Leave a Reply

